• X
  • Listen in to our latest podcast!

    August 31, 2012

    Cell C lower international call rate now available to 227 countries

    Cell C customers will benefit from significantly reduced call rates to more than 227 countries from 1 September.

    Following the launch of its 99c per minute call rate to 50 countries in recent months, Cell C has now reduced the call rates to an additional 177 countries.

    “We have spent a great deal of time negotiating better termination rates with our international partners.  The termination rates, or rates charged by other operators to carry calls on their networks, remain the highest input cost both locally and abroad, when determining call rates,” says Alan Knott-Craig, Cell C CEO.

    He says the savings negotiated will be passed on to consumers through reduced international call tariffs.  In addition to the reduced tariffs, Cell C has also simplified its price plan to ensure more transparency when making calls abroad.

    Countries have been grouped into five different zones according to the new call rates and will be available to prepaid, hybrid and postpaid customers as default rates from 1 September.  Calls will be billed on a per second basis and the new rates will be applicable to fixed line and mobile numbers in the respective countries.

    Zone 1 includes 50 countries at a call rate of 99c per minute. Calling destinations in Zone 1 include Angola, Australia, Brazil, France, Germany, India, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, the UK and USA.

    At R1.99 per minute, Zone 2 includes 53 countries including Argentina, Botswana, Israel, Japan, Mozambique, Namibia, Saudi Arabia, Swaziland, Taiwan and the United Arab Emirates.

    Zone 3, at R2.99 per minute covers 66 countries including Cameroon, Denmark, Ethiopia, Ghana, Lebanon, Lesotho, Mexico, Switzerland and Qatar.

    He adds that the remaining 58 countries will be added to Zone 4 and Zone 5 at R3.99 and R8.99 per minute respectively.  Zone 4 includes countries such as Albania, Bulgaria, Chile, Liberia, Sudan and Zimbabwe.  Zone 5 includes Cuba, Djibouti, Gambia, Sierra Leone, Somalia and Tunisia.

    ‘We will continue to negotiate better rates and where we are able to further reduce rates, we will make amendments,” says Knott-Craig.

    All international calls are pure circuit-switched calls (non-VoIP) ensuring the best quality possible.

    A full list of countries per zone is listed below:

    Zone 1
    Zone 2
    Zone 3
    Zone 4
    Zone 5
    American Samoa Antigua & Barbuda Afghanistan San Marino Albania Ascension Islands
    Angola Argentina Algeria Senegal Azerbaijan Comoros Islands
    Australia Bhutan Andorra Seychelles Bulgaria Cook Islands
    Austria Bolivia Anguilla Switzerland Central African Republic Cuba
    Bahrain Botswana Armenia St Lucia Chile Diego Garcia
    Bangladesh Burundi Aruba St Vincent and the Grenadines Congo Brazzaville Djibouti
    Belgium Colombia Bahamas Suriname Croatia East Timor
    Bermuda Costa Rica Barbados Syria Democratic Republic of Congo Falkland Islands
    Brazil Czech Republic Belarus Tanzania Eritrea Gambia
    Brunei Dominica Belize Turkey Estonia Greenland
    Cambodia Dominican Republic Benin Turks And Caicos Islands French Polynesia Guinea Bissau
    Canada French Guiana Bosnia and Herzegovina Uruguay Haiti Kiribati
    China Guadeloupe British Virgin Islands Yemen Liberia North Korea
    Cyprus Georgia Burkina Faso Libya Latvia
    Egypt *Hawaii Cameroon Monaco Liechtenstein
    Finland Hungary Cape Verde Montenegro Macedonia
    France Iceland Cayman Islands Morocco Maldives
    Germany Iran Chad Serbia Myanmar
    Greece Iraq Denmark South Sudan Nauru
    Guam Israel Ecuador Sudan Niue
    Hong Kong Japan El Salvador Togo Norfolk Islands
    India Jordan Equatorial Guinea Tonga Papua New Guinea
    Indonesia Kazakhstan Ethiopia Zimbabwe Sao Tome and Principe
    Ireland Kuwait Faroe Islands Sierra Leone
    Italy Kyrgyzstan Fiji Slovenia
    Kenya Luxembourg Gabon Solomon Islands
    Laos Malta Grenada Somalia
    Lithuania Martinique Ghana St Helena
    Macau Mauritius Guyana St Pierre & Miquelon
    Malawi Mozambique Gibraltar Tokelau
    Malaysia Namibia Guatemala Tunisia
    Mariana Islands Nepal Honduras Tuvalu
    Mongolia Netherlands Antilles Ivory Coast Vanuatu
    Netherlands Norway Jamaica Wallis & Futuna Islands
    New Zealand Panama Lebanon Western Samoa
    Nigeria Paraguay Lesotho
    Pakistan Philippines Mali
    Portugal Reunion Marshall Islands
    Puerto Rico Rwanda Mayotte
    Romania Saudi Arabia Mexico
    Singapore Slovakia Micronesia
    South Korea Sri Lanka Moldova
    Spain St Maarten New Caledonia
    Sweden Swaziland Nicaragua
    Thailand Taiwan Niger
    UK Tajikistan Oman
    US Virgin Islands Trinidad and Tobago Palau
    USA Turkmenistan Palestine
    Uzbekistan Uganda Peru
    Vietnam Ukraine Poland
    United Arab Emirates Qatar
    Venezuela Russia
    Zambia Saint Kitts and Nevis

    Listen in to our latest podcast!